Feminism – a poem

Before you read the poem, I’d just like to say that I think the way feminism has developed is a bit ridiculous, epitomized very much by the Sir Tim Hunt ‘scandal’, and this is my attempt at writing a satirical poem aimed at ‘feminists’ like the ones associated with this ridiculous scandal. Sir Tim Hunt is a victim of these ‘fauxminists’, and I’d like to specifically thank Louise Mensch for all her tweets about the matter.

Feminism, Fauxminism

Oh Fourier, how I love you so!
Without you, what would I be?
Without you, where would I be?
How I need you so!

Tell me, how should I think?
Tell me, how should I write?
Tell me, what happened in history?
Oh I need you so!

Is Herodotus really the Father of History?
Was Alexander really that great?
Did Rousseau really force us to be free?
Help, I need you so!

From this movement, I have escaped the black tar
And I want to skate on the diamond-like ground,
where I feel free, and young, and beautiful.
Oh, we have come so far!

But wait…

Can I not have my freedom without you?
Would I not have my freedom without you?
Maybe your highlighter and pen have exposed us.
Now what are we to do?
What am I to do?
Nothing.

Leave a comment